Holiday Update

1. The -Up For Grabs- page has been updated.

From one Ebay addict to another, I highly recommend keeping an eye on it. I will continue to try and update it regularly, but the last batch of stuff included several EPIC-X cameras for almost half price.( !?) One complete kit sold for under 12K.

This time I have added a few RED lenses, a Cinevised Tokina, and some great O’Connor gear. Check it out! then Bookmark it:)

 

2. Does anyone have any experience with TILTA gear?

2014-12-23_09h19_19

I have been keeping an eye on their Matte Boxes and follow focus units for quite some time, and have seen surprisingly good reviews on their equipment. They have introduced a new wireless follow focus system, and I would be highly interested in a review from anyone who has used one. See here:

http://www.tilta.com/info/d-7-_en.html

https://vimeo.com/91647003

Their price point is really good, and they seem to be a huge professional step up from DSLR type gear- (REDROCK MICRO, etc.)

I am also a big fan of the wooden grips, as they tend to soften up and “wear in” over time.

 

3. Steadicam Page on its way.

I have almost finished rewiring/adapting my Steadicam flyer to work directly with RED DRAGON/EPIC, etc. I will look forward to posting results on the project over the new year.

 

4. Breatown.com is up and running.

2014-12-23_09h58_25

Breatown is home base for me when networking or assisting others in projects. I am not much for HTML or coding, so I am proud of how it ended up, for the amount of time I put into it. The goal is to one day transform it into a fully fledged business page for my own studio.

 

5. Happy tenth year anniversary to RED! 

Hopefully you have seen Jim’s note to RED this week- it was nice to see him posting again!

With the exception of this guy. I guess there is always one out there;) (But what a strange thing to post.!?)

2014-12-23_09h26_31

Dog years is correct, however. Anyone in the industry knows how hard it is to keep track of where we even were 2 -3 years ago. The 5 years I have been involved really does feel like a lifetime. (Anyone else remember shoulder mounting a RED ONE with a cradle, spinning hard drive, and RED Brick just a few years ago?) My apologies if you still are.. Ho Ho Ho.

CAMTREE-Hunt-19mm-Shoulder-Rig-For-Red-One-4

 

Have a happy Holidays!

-Stephen

One thought on “Holiday Update

  1. dbalsley@aol.com says:

    Stephen –

    Interesting post. Though I don’t know all the technical things you write about, I enjoyed reading the post and it is good to know about the tenth anniversary for Red – and that you have been with the company for half of its existence!

    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

